Turkey Chili

March 21, 2010 at 3:20 am 1 comment

Ok everyone I have to share this recipe with you!  I have really gotten into clean eating and cooking this last month and I get so excited when I find a great recipe.  I actually came across this recipe back in November, I tried it then and have been making it at least once a month ever since.  It is for turkey chili, I use Jenny O ground turkey meat.  The best part about this recipe is the 1 cup of red wine, it really sets off the taste.  Try it out and let me know what you think.  Courtesy of  healthy-endeavors.com

Southwestern Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

1 cup chopped green pepper
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
2 cloves garlic
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained (I loved Eden Organic brand, no-salt added variety)
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes (I like Muir Glen fire roasted tomatoes)
1 cup red wine
3 cups cooked turkey, diced
1 tbsp. chili powder
2 tbsp. fresh cilantro, minced
1 tsp. crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp. salt

Directions:

1. In a large saucepan or soup pot, heat oil over medium heat.  Saute pepper, onion and garlic for about 5 minutes.

2. Add beans, tomatoes, wine, turkey, chili powder, cilantro, crushed red pepper and salt.

3. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 20 minutes.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Get Ahead of the Curve: Childproof During Pregnancy Second Trimester Fitness

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Christina@Health-Foodie  |  March 22, 2010 at 2:17 am

    I love cooking with wine! I always put some red wine in my Minestrone. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



