A Valentines Day Walk to Remember

February 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm 1 comment

Lets catch up a little.  Yesterday was Valentines Day and I hope everyone had a great day with the people they love.  I spent most of the day with my little Valentine…my 1 year old Dominic.  It was a beautiful day in Southern California yesterday, about 75 degrees and blue sky’s so I decided to spend the day outside with Dominic.  I packed the diaper bag with EVERYTHING I could need, put littleman in the stroller and headed to the park 2 blocks from our apartment.  We played at the park for about 30 minutes and when he was good and tried I put Dominic in the stroller and started what would be a LONG but very enjoyable walk.  I wanted to walk to the Santa Monica pier which is about 5 miles from our apartment but I could walk along the bike path by the beach so it wouldn’t be to unpleasant. 

The the smell of the ocean, the breeze in my hair and the sun on my face made for a relaxing walk down the strand.  Dominic slept most of the way and I people watched.  It took me just over an hour to make it to the pier.  Dominic woke up when we got there and I decided to stop and have lunch.  We ate at a little seafood restaurant right on the pier, I was hoping it would be yummy but I have to say it wasnt the best food I ever ate.  I ordered fish n chips, I favorite of mine that I never really have because lets face it, it’s not the best thing you could ever put in your body.  But I went for it, I was in the middle of a 10 mile walk and felt I more than earned my fish n chips.  unfortunately they were not that good, the fish was lacking in flavor to say the least.  I peeled the beading away, because why waste the calories if it doesn’t taste good and ate just enough to give me energy to finish my 5 mile walk back home.  I had an apple in the diaperbag so I enjoyed that along the way. 

We walked almost all the way back to our apartment and I decided to take Dominic out of the stroller to play at the beach for a while.  He LOVED putting his little toes in the ocean and feeling the waves hit his legs.  We spent a little more time in the sand and then headed up the BIG hill to go home.  Dominic was exausted he took a 2 hour nap.  What a treat for me.  I enjoyed a healthy snack (whole wheat toast with peanut butter and honey and blueberries) I also got to enjoy a shower and watch a little TV before littleman woke up.

When Kent got home from work we enjoyed a nice dinner and watched a movie.  All in all is was the perfect Valentines day.  What did you do to celebrate?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Weekend of Wellness Cleaning For A Reason

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Calie  |  February 15, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Sounds like the perfect day! Wish our weather would warm up so we could get out for a walk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



