Blogging My Way to a Better Diet

January 28, 2010 at 6:55 pm Leave a comment

I’m a fitness professional, obviously I know the importance of eating healthy and I exercise on a very regular basis, but I am also human so there are times where I enjoy junk food and take a day off from my workout routine.  Most recently I added another job title to my life…MOTHER:)  This is by far the best job title I could ever have.

My son just turned 1-year-old, he is very active and LOVES to eat, which is great.  In fact I havent found anything he won’t eat.  This makes preparing meals for him relatively easy and I do give him very healthy foods.  His favorite is fruit.  Every so often Dominic enjoys maccaroni and cheese or pizza or grilled cheese.  For snacks I sometimes give him a cereal bar and what baby doesn’t inhale Cheerios?

That being said it’s very easy for me to take bites of his yummy food without even thinking twice about it.  I know this is a common problem for many moms out there.  Yes, I said problem.  The reason it becomes a problem is BECAUSE we are not paying attention to how often we do it.  We think “oh its just a bite here or a taste there.”  Those calories add up…FAST!

Recently I add a new page to my blog, Food Journal and Fitness Log.  I wanted to share with all of you just how I maintain my health on a day-to-day basis.  I wanted you all to see that I do eat well, but sometimes I indulge, I do workout but sometimes I go easy on myself or take a day off.  I’m hoping to provide you with ideas and encouragment to do it for yourself and your families.  I ended up teaching my self a little something in the process. 

Like I said I am knowledgeable about food and calories but it wasnt until I added this page to my blog that I really started THINKING about my choices.  When I realized that I would have to share it all with you I reached for an apple instead of a granola bar, I reached for water instead of coffee, and I stopped to ask myself if I was about to put food in my mouth because I was actually hungry or because I was board or it just looked good. 

Being accountable to someone other than myself makes all the difference in the world.  Maybe it shouldnt but it does.  I enjoy sharing this little insight into my daily life with you and I hope you all enjoy it as well.  I hope you all see that everything in moderation truly is a great way for living a healthy, happy life. 

Please feel free to join in on this page and post what  you have eaten and what your workout routines are.  No judgment here, I promise, just motivation, encouragement and support.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s Raining It’s Pouring….I can’t Workout! Mighty Mommies Fitness Helps Haiti

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



